[ New messages · Members · Forum rules · Search · RSS ]
  • Page 1 of 1
  • 1
Forum » Magical Discussion » Misc Topics » Introduction to the Chakras
Introduction to the Chakras
StarkissedDate: Wednesday, 16-October-2013, 6:42 PM | Message # 1
Group: Editor
Messages: 14
Status: Offline
We’ve all heard the term, but what really are the chakras? The chakras are non-visible centers in the energy body (or subtle body) that act as what could be considered “energy cities” that are connected by
“energy highways”. The chakras can be stimulated to encourage more
energy flow through the body, and they are susceptible to blockages due
to environmental, physical or emotional stress or disease.
There are many different names for the chakras throughout different cultures and history so it is by any means a definite thing.

Characteristics of a chakra:
Part of the energy circuitLocated at major parts of the body (head, chest, navel, feet ect)Reflect our mental, emotional and physical wellbeing 

Crown Chakra:
Portrayed as the 1000 petal lotus and is considered to be the chakra
of general consciousness. It is said to be located either at the crown
of the head or above the crown of the head (interpretations differ). The
crown chakra represents inner wisdom and death of the body, as well as
the essence of masculine energy. Also deals with meditation, universal
consciousness and unity and emotions. (**note: in Buddhism this chakra
is represented as a white circle with 32 downward pointing petals**)
Medically, the crown chakra is associated to the pituitary gland. the
endocrine system, central nervous system and the hypothalamus.

Brow Chakra (or third eye):
Symbolized as a two petal lotus and is usually associated with the
colors violet or indigo. This chakra is good for intuition and psychic
awareness, dreams as well as mental clarity and intuition.
Medically, the third eye is linked to the pineal gland (which produces the hormone melatonin) that regulates the sleep cycle.

Throat Chakra:
The throat chakra is commonly depicted as a silver crescent within a
white circle with 16 petals surrounding it. This chakra is usually
connected with the color blue and is related to communication and
expression. It governs independence, fluent thought, spirituality, a
sense of security as well as lucid dreaming. (**note: in Buddhism this
chakra is depicted as being red with 16 petals pointing upwards**)
Medically, the throat chakra is associated with the thyroid (a major
hormone producing organ responsible for growth and physical maturation.

Heart Chakra:
Represented by a circular flower with 12 petals and is associated
with the colors green and sometimes pink. Symbolic of the union of the
male and female, it is a chakra that focuses on complex emotions,
compassion, tenderness, love (unconditional), balance and wellbeing.
(**note: in Buddhism, this chakra is generally represented as being
white and circular with 8 downward pointing petals. Is considered to be
extremely important and home of our consciousness (or soul)**)
Medically this chakra is said to be responsible for fending off
diseases and can be negatively affected by stress. It governs
circulation and the circulatory system as well as the immune system.

Solar Plexus Chakra:
The solar plexus chakra is symbolized by a downward pointing triangle
with ten petals, along with the color yellow. Key issues governed by
the solar plexus chakra are issues of power (personal), fear, anxiety,
opinions, introversion, and transition from base emotions to complex
ones. It also resides over personal expansion, growth and spirituality.
Medically, the solar plexus chakra is linked with metabolism and the digestive system.

Sacral Chakra:
The sacral chakra is symbolized as the white lotus within a crescent
moon with 6 petals surrounding it. The color associated with the sacral
chakra is usually orange. Key things represented by this chakra are
relationships, violence, addiction, emotion and emotional needs as well
as pleasure, joy and enthusiasm.
Medically this chakra has to do with the reproductive system and genitals as well as the adrenal glands.

The Root Chakra:
Symbolized as the lotus with for petals, this chakra is commonly
associated with the color red. This chakra commands instinct, security,
survival, potential, sensuality and stability.
Medically, this chakra governs sexuality and is linked to the base of
the spine, gonads and the adrenal medulla (part of the brain
responsible for fight or flight response)
Other Notes:
There are said to be 7 lower chakras corresponding with base instinct
as well as 21 minor chakras which are reflections of the major chakras.
These 21 chakras can be grouped into 10 smaller points that are linked
with the foot, hand, knee, elbow, groin, clavicle (or collar bone),
navel, shoulder and ear. The spleen is noted to be classified as a minor
chakra but it is under high debate.

Also, when working with and activating the chakras, it is common to work from the root chakra up, instead of the crown chakra down.
IgnatiausDate: Friday, 18-October-2013, 12:22 PM | Message # 2
Site Owner
Group: Administrator
Messages: 32
Status: Offline
Excellent post. I'm sure many members will find this informative.
Forum » Magical Discussion » Misc Topics » Introduction to the Chakras
  • Page 1 of 1
  • 1